If I readied a spell with the trigger “When I take damage”, do I have to make a constitution saving throw to avoid losing Concentration?How specific does the trigger for a readied action have to be?How long can a readied spell be held before it's lost?What to do when someone's attacking you, but succeeding the save is worse than failing it?Timing of the Ready action when the trigger is associated with spell casting?Can a readied spell be Counterspelled after it is cast, but before the trigger occurs?Does the spell Cloudkill deal damage when first cast?When using a wand to cast a concentration spell, does the user need to make a saving throw to maintain concentration when damaged?Does dealing 0 damage to a concentrating spellcaster require a saving throw?Can you Ready a Concentration spell?What creature of CR 5 or lower has the highest Constitution saving throw bonus?

Why use steam instead of just hot air?

How can a Lich look like a human without magic?

Can I use my laptop, which says 240V, in the USA?

What did Rocket give Hawkeye in "Avengers: Endgame"?

Adding slope values to attribute table (QGIS 3)

Why can't RGB or bicolour LEDs produce a decent yellow?

How can I answer high-school writing prompts without sounding weird and fake?

Is it a Munchausen Number?

How do I tell my supervisor that he is choosing poor replacements for me while I am on maternity leave?

Is it a bad idea to replace pull-up resistors with hard pull-ups?

Is there a faster way to calculate Abs[z]^2 numerically?

Remove everything except csv file Bash Script

Is there enough time to Planar Bind a creature conjured by a 1-hour-duration spell?

Will change of address affect direct deposit?

What does it mean with the ask price is below the last price?

How to make the table in the figure in LaTeX?

How do I compare the result of "1d20+x, with advantage" to "1d20+y, without advantage", assuming x < y?

Was this a power play by Daenerys?

Limit of an integral vs Limit of the integrand

find not returning expected files

Unit Test - Testing API Methods

Would an 8% reduction in drag outweigh the weight addition from this custom CFD-tested winglet?

Is Simic Ascendancy triggered by Awakening of Vitu-Ghazi?

Control variables and other independent variables



If I readied a spell with the trigger “When I take damage”, do I have to make a constitution saving throw to avoid losing Concentration?


How specific does the trigger for a readied action have to be?How long can a readied spell be held before it's lost?What to do when someone's attacking you, but succeeding the save is worse than failing it?Timing of the Ready action when the trigger is associated with spell casting?Can a readied spell be Counterspelled after it is cast, but before the trigger occurs?Does the spell Cloudkill deal damage when first cast?When using a wand to cast a concentration spell, does the user need to make a saving throw to maintain concentration when damaged?Does dealing 0 damage to a concentrating spellcaster require a saving throw?Can you Ready a Concentration spell?What creature of CR 5 or lower has the highest Constitution saving throw bonus?






.everyoneloves__top-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__mid-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__bot-mid-leaderboard:empty margin-bottom:0;








18












$begingroup$


Suppose I was playing a wizard. I say to my DM, "I ready my Magic Missile. I cast it when I take damage, at the attacker."



When the time comes, do I need to make a Constitution saving throw immediately before I cast to avoid losing concentration?










share|improve this question











$endgroup$











  • $begingroup$
    Why not rephrase to trigger 'immediately before something causes me to take damage'?
    $endgroup$
    – Kieveli
    May 2 at 19:22











  • $begingroup$
    @Kieveli I also thought off that but (in the [hypothetical] game) that was the wording I chose. The question is about that specific wording.
    $endgroup$
    – MrHiTech
    May 3 at 15:33

















18












$begingroup$


Suppose I was playing a wizard. I say to my DM, "I ready my Magic Missile. I cast it when I take damage, at the attacker."



When the time comes, do I need to make a Constitution saving throw immediately before I cast to avoid losing concentration?










share|improve this question











$endgroup$











  • $begingroup$
    Why not rephrase to trigger 'immediately before something causes me to take damage'?
    $endgroup$
    – Kieveli
    May 2 at 19:22











  • $begingroup$
    @Kieveli I also thought off that but (in the [hypothetical] game) that was the wording I chose. The question is about that specific wording.
    $endgroup$
    – MrHiTech
    May 3 at 15:33













18












18








18


1



$begingroup$


Suppose I was playing a wizard. I say to my DM, "I ready my Magic Missile. I cast it when I take damage, at the attacker."



When the time comes, do I need to make a Constitution saving throw immediately before I cast to avoid losing concentration?










share|improve this question











$endgroup$




Suppose I was playing a wizard. I say to my DM, "I ready my Magic Missile. I cast it when I take damage, at the attacker."



When the time comes, do I need to make a Constitution saving throw immediately before I cast to avoid losing concentration?







dnd-5e spells readied-action concentration






share|improve this question















share|improve this question













share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited May 1 at 19:10









V2Blast

29.1k5105177




29.1k5105177










asked May 1 at 13:50









MrHiTechMrHiTech

1,078326




1,078326











  • $begingroup$
    Why not rephrase to trigger 'immediately before something causes me to take damage'?
    $endgroup$
    – Kieveli
    May 2 at 19:22











  • $begingroup$
    @Kieveli I also thought off that but (in the [hypothetical] game) that was the wording I chose. The question is about that specific wording.
    $endgroup$
    – MrHiTech
    May 3 at 15:33
















  • $begingroup$
    Why not rephrase to trigger 'immediately before something causes me to take damage'?
    $endgroup$
    – Kieveli
    May 2 at 19:22











  • $begingroup$
    @Kieveli I also thought off that but (in the [hypothetical] game) that was the wording I chose. The question is about that specific wording.
    $endgroup$
    – MrHiTech
    May 3 at 15:33















$begingroup$
Why not rephrase to trigger 'immediately before something causes me to take damage'?
$endgroup$
– Kieveli
May 2 at 19:22





$begingroup$
Why not rephrase to trigger 'immediately before something causes me to take damage'?
$endgroup$
– Kieveli
May 2 at 19:22













$begingroup$
@Kieveli I also thought off that but (in the [hypothetical] game) that was the wording I chose. The question is about that specific wording.
$endgroup$
– MrHiTech
May 3 at 15:33




$begingroup$
@Kieveli I also thought off that but (in the [hypothetical] game) that was the wording I chose. The question is about that specific wording.
$endgroup$
– MrHiTech
May 3 at 15:33










1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes


















35












$begingroup$

Yes, you do



The Readied action doesn't trigger until after your trigger completes:




When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.




When you ready a spell, you are concentrating on that spell as you hold it (PHB, 193)




When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect.




Since your trigger is when I take damage and you are concentrating, you will have to make a concentration save per the rules on concentration:




Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.




If you fail, then you've lost your spell



Just to close the loop, if you do fail that concentration save, then you drop the readied spell and you won't be casting it.






share|improve this answer











$endgroup$













    Your Answer








    StackExchange.ready(function()
    var channelOptions =
    tags: "".split(" "),
    id: "122"
    ;
    initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

    StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
    // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
    if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
    StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
    createEditor();
    );

    else
    createEditor();

    );

    function createEditor()
    StackExchange.prepareEditor(
    heartbeatType: 'answer',
    autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
    convertImagesToLinks: false,
    noModals: true,
    showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
    reputationToPostImages: null,
    bindNavPrevention: true,
    postfix: "",
    imageUploader:
    brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
    contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
    allowUrls: true
    ,
    noCode: true, onDemand: true,
    discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
    ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
    );



    );













    draft saved

    draft discarded


















    StackExchange.ready(
    function ()
    StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f147249%2fif-i-readied-a-spell-with-the-trigger-when-i-take-damage-do-i-have-to-make-a%23new-answer', 'question_page');

    );

    Post as a guest















    Required, but never shown

























    1 Answer
    1






    active

    oldest

    votes








    1 Answer
    1






    active

    oldest

    votes









    active

    oldest

    votes






    active

    oldest

    votes









    35












    $begingroup$

    Yes, you do



    The Readied action doesn't trigger until after your trigger completes:




    When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.




    When you ready a spell, you are concentrating on that spell as you hold it (PHB, 193)




    When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect.




    Since your trigger is when I take damage and you are concentrating, you will have to make a concentration save per the rules on concentration:




    Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.




    If you fail, then you've lost your spell



    Just to close the loop, if you do fail that concentration save, then you drop the readied spell and you won't be casting it.






    share|improve this answer











    $endgroup$

















      35












      $begingroup$

      Yes, you do



      The Readied action doesn't trigger until after your trigger completes:




      When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.




      When you ready a spell, you are concentrating on that spell as you hold it (PHB, 193)




      When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect.




      Since your trigger is when I take damage and you are concentrating, you will have to make a concentration save per the rules on concentration:




      Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.




      If you fail, then you've lost your spell



      Just to close the loop, if you do fail that concentration save, then you drop the readied spell and you won't be casting it.






      share|improve this answer











      $endgroup$















        35












        35








        35





        $begingroup$

        Yes, you do



        The Readied action doesn't trigger until after your trigger completes:




        When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.




        When you ready a spell, you are concentrating on that spell as you hold it (PHB, 193)




        When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect.




        Since your trigger is when I take damage and you are concentrating, you will have to make a concentration save per the rules on concentration:




        Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.




        If you fail, then you've lost your spell



        Just to close the loop, if you do fail that concentration save, then you drop the readied spell and you won't be casting it.






        share|improve this answer











        $endgroup$



        Yes, you do



        The Readied action doesn't trigger until after your trigger completes:




        When the trigger occurs, you can either take your reaction right after the trigger finishes or ignore the trigger.




        When you ready a spell, you are concentrating on that spell as you hold it (PHB, 193)




        When you ready a spell, you cast it as normal but hold its energy, which you release with your reaction when the trigger occurs. To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration (explained in chapter 10). If your concentration is broken, the spell dissipates without taking effect.




        Since your trigger is when I take damage and you are concentrating, you will have to make a concentration save per the rules on concentration:




        Taking damage. Whenever you take damage while you are concentrating on a spell, you must make a Constitution saving throw to maintain your concentration. The DC equals 10 or half the damage you take, whichever number is higher. If you take damage from multiple sources, such as an arrow and a dragon's breath, you make a separate saving throw for each source of damage.




        If you fail, then you've lost your spell



        Just to close the loop, if you do fail that concentration save, then you drop the readied spell and you won't be casting it.







        share|improve this answer














        share|improve this answer



        share|improve this answer








        edited May 1 at 14:34









        Slagmoth

        18.4k15598




        18.4k15598










        answered May 1 at 14:03









        NautArchNautArch

        65.3k10240434




        65.3k10240434



























            draft saved

            draft discarded
















































            Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


            • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

            But avoid


            • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

            • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

            Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


            To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




            draft saved


            draft discarded














            StackExchange.ready(
            function ()
            StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f147249%2fif-i-readied-a-spell-with-the-trigger-when-i-take-damage-do-i-have-to-make-a%23new-answer', 'question_page');

            );

            Post as a guest















            Required, but never shown





















































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown

































            Required, but never shown














            Required, but never shown












            Required, but never shown







            Required, but never shown







            Popular posts from this blog

            RemoteApp sporadic failureWindows 2008 RemoteAPP client disconnects within a matter of minutesWhat is the minimum version of RDP supported by Server 2012 RDS?How to configure a Remoteapp server to increase stabilityMicrosoft RemoteApp Active SessionRDWeb TS connection broken for some users post RemoteApp certificate changeRemote Desktop Licensing, RemoteAPPRDS 2012 R2 some users are not able to logon after changed date and time on Connection BrokersWhat happens during Remote Desktop logon, and is there any logging?After installing RDS on WinServer 2016 I still can only connect with two users?RD Connection via RDGW to Session host is not connecting

            How to write a 12-bar blues melodyI-IV-V blues progressionHow to play the bridges in a standard blues progressionHow does Gdim7 fit in C# minor?question on a certain chord progressionMusicology of Melody12 bar blues, spread rhythm: alternative to 6th chord to avoid finger stretchChord progressions/ Root key/ MelodiesHow to put chords (POP-EDM) under a given lead vocal melody (starting from a good knowledge in music theory)Are there “rules” for improvising with the minor pentatonic scale over 12-bar shuffle?Confusion about blues scale and chords

            Esgonzo ibérico Índice Descrición Distribución Hábitat Ameazas Notas Véxase tamén "Acerca dos nomes dos anfibios e réptiles galegos""Chalcides bedriagai"Chalcides bedriagai en Carrascal, L. M. Salvador, A. (Eds). Enciclopedia virtual de los vertebrados españoles. Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales, Madrid. España.Fotos