Do surprised enemies take damage from the Flaming Sphere spell?Does the prone ranged defensive bonus apply to a creature hit by Flaming Sphere's initial attack?Does a Flaming Sphere gain combat advantage with its initial attack against a prone enemy?Flaming Sphere AOEIs Flaming Sphere Opaque?When does Flaming Sphere do its damage if the caster delays?“Flaming Sphere” spell and initiative movementIf an attack alerts someone to your presence, can their initiative save them from being surprised in time?Does the Flaming Sphere spell come with or as a bonus action as a default?Can the Flaming Sphere spell be rammed into multiple Tiny creatures that are in the same 5-foot square?Does a surprised creature obey the 1st-level spell Command?

How much will studying magic in an academy cost?

If I wouldn't want to read the story, is writing it still a good idea?

Why use cross notes in sheet music for hip hop tracks?

Inaccessible base class despite friendship

"How can you guarantee that you won't change/quit job after just couple of months?" How to respond?

Why is it recommended to mix yogurt starter with a small amount of milk before adding to the entire batch?

Parameterize chained calls to a utility program in Bash

What size of powerbank will I need to power a phone and DSLR for 2 weeks?

Explain why a line can never intersect a plane in exactly two points.

How to draw this center trajectory of rolling ball?

Is a single radon-daughter atom in air a solid?

Should developer taking test phones home or put in office?

What reason would an alien civilization have for building a Dyson Sphere (or Swarm) if cheap Nuclear fusion is available?

Can humans ever directly see a few photons at a time? Can a human see a single photon?

.NET executes a SQL query and Active Monitor shows multiple rows blocking each other

What did River say when she woke from her proto-comatose state?

Output of "$OSTYPE:6" on old releases of Mac OS X

Unusual mail headers, evidence of an attempted attack. Have I been pwned?

Should I prioritize my 401k over my student loans?

How do I turn off a repeating trade?

Interaction between Leyline of Anticipation and Teferi, Time Raveler

What does "play with your toy’s toys" mean?

Suggested order for Amazon Prime Doctor Who series

Why do even high-end cameras often still include normal (non-cross-type) AF sensors?



Do surprised enemies take damage from the Flaming Sphere spell?


Does the prone ranged defensive bonus apply to a creature hit by Flaming Sphere's initial attack?Does a Flaming Sphere gain combat advantage with its initial attack against a prone enemy?Flaming Sphere AOEIs Flaming Sphere Opaque?When does Flaming Sphere do its damage if the caster delays?“Flaming Sphere” spell and initiative movementIf an attack alerts someone to your presence, can their initiative save them from being surprised in time?Does the Flaming Sphere spell come with or as a bonus action as a default?Can the Flaming Sphere spell be rammed into multiple Tiny creatures that are in the same 5-foot square?Does a surprised creature obey the 1st-level spell Command?






.everyoneloves__top-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__mid-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__bot-mid-leaderboard:empty margin-bottom:0;








4












$begingroup$


If one enemy is surprised, and the mage casts flaming sphere next to this surprised enemy, does it have to make the saving throw and take damage for being adjacent to the flaming sphere when the surprise round ends?










share|improve this question











$endgroup$







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance.
    $endgroup$
    – V2Blast
    Jun 5 at 19:00

















4












$begingroup$


If one enemy is surprised, and the mage casts flaming sphere next to this surprised enemy, does it have to make the saving throw and take damage for being adjacent to the flaming sphere when the surprise round ends?










share|improve this question











$endgroup$







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance.
    $endgroup$
    – V2Blast
    Jun 5 at 19:00













4












4








4





$begingroup$


If one enemy is surprised, and the mage casts flaming sphere next to this surprised enemy, does it have to make the saving throw and take damage for being adjacent to the flaming sphere when the surprise round ends?










share|improve this question











$endgroup$




If one enemy is surprised, and the mage casts flaming sphere next to this surprised enemy, does it have to make the saving throw and take damage for being adjacent to the flaming sphere when the surprise round ends?







dnd-5e spells combat surprise






share|improve this question















share|improve this question













share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited Jun 5 at 19:00









V2Blast

30.8k5115188




30.8k5115188










asked Jun 5 at 9:28









Albert CortadaAlbert Cortada

1263




1263







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance.
    $endgroup$
    – V2Blast
    Jun 5 at 19:00












  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance.
    $endgroup$
    – V2Blast
    Jun 5 at 19:00







1




1




$begingroup$
Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance.
$endgroup$
– V2Blast
Jun 5 at 19:00




$begingroup$
Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance.
$endgroup$
– V2Blast
Jun 5 at 19:00










1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes


















12












$begingroup$

Yes (at the end of the surprised enemy's turn)



Note that there isn't really a "surprise round" in D&D 5th edition. Rather, it is just the first round of combat but surprised creatures can't take actions or reactions until after their first turn (see here):




If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first
turn of the combat, and you can't take a reaction until that turn
ends. A member of a group can be surprised even if the other members
aren't.




So the enemy still has a turn, it just can't actually do anything on it's turn. Except take damage from the flaming sphere: Being surprised has no effect on Flaming Sphere, which just states:




Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must make
a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a
failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.







share|improve this answer











$endgroup$








  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @PJRZ Ok, just one clarification, if the enemy rolled higher initiative, do they still take damage? because they would have "ended" the turn sooner that the spell was cast.
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:38






  • 4




    $begingroup$
    @AlbertCortada No damage is taken then. You just check at the end of each creature's turn if they are next to the sphere (and not at the end of the whole round). If a creatures ends their turn before flaming sphere is even cast, there is no damage to take. Surprise does not really change anything regarding flaming sphere
    $endgroup$
    – Sdjz
    Jun 5 at 9:49










  • $begingroup$
    Ok, thanks @Sdjz, that was the last doubt that I had, I shoud have added it to the question
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:52













Your Answer








StackExchange.ready(function()
var channelOptions =
tags: "".split(" "),
id: "122"
;
initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
// Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
createEditor();
);

else
createEditor();

);

function createEditor()
StackExchange.prepareEditor(
heartbeatType: 'answer',
autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
convertImagesToLinks: false,
noModals: true,
showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
reputationToPostImages: null,
bindNavPrevention: true,
postfix: "",
imageUploader:
brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
allowUrls: true
,
noCode: true, onDemand: true,
discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
);



);













draft saved

draft discarded


















StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f149326%2fdo-surprised-enemies-take-damage-from-the-flaming-sphere-spell%23new-answer', 'question_page');

);

Post as a guest















Required, but never shown

























1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes








1 Answer
1






active

oldest

votes









active

oldest

votes






active

oldest

votes









12












$begingroup$

Yes (at the end of the surprised enemy's turn)



Note that there isn't really a "surprise round" in D&D 5th edition. Rather, it is just the first round of combat but surprised creatures can't take actions or reactions until after their first turn (see here):




If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first
turn of the combat, and you can't take a reaction until that turn
ends. A member of a group can be surprised even if the other members
aren't.




So the enemy still has a turn, it just can't actually do anything on it's turn. Except take damage from the flaming sphere: Being surprised has no effect on Flaming Sphere, which just states:




Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must make
a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a
failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.







share|improve this answer











$endgroup$








  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @PJRZ Ok, just one clarification, if the enemy rolled higher initiative, do they still take damage? because they would have "ended" the turn sooner that the spell was cast.
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:38






  • 4




    $begingroup$
    @AlbertCortada No damage is taken then. You just check at the end of each creature's turn if they are next to the sphere (and not at the end of the whole round). If a creatures ends their turn before flaming sphere is even cast, there is no damage to take. Surprise does not really change anything regarding flaming sphere
    $endgroup$
    – Sdjz
    Jun 5 at 9:49










  • $begingroup$
    Ok, thanks @Sdjz, that was the last doubt that I had, I shoud have added it to the question
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:52















12












$begingroup$

Yes (at the end of the surprised enemy's turn)



Note that there isn't really a "surprise round" in D&D 5th edition. Rather, it is just the first round of combat but surprised creatures can't take actions or reactions until after their first turn (see here):




If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first
turn of the combat, and you can't take a reaction until that turn
ends. A member of a group can be surprised even if the other members
aren't.




So the enemy still has a turn, it just can't actually do anything on it's turn. Except take damage from the flaming sphere: Being surprised has no effect on Flaming Sphere, which just states:




Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must make
a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a
failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.







share|improve this answer











$endgroup$








  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @PJRZ Ok, just one clarification, if the enemy rolled higher initiative, do they still take damage? because they would have "ended" the turn sooner that the spell was cast.
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:38






  • 4




    $begingroup$
    @AlbertCortada No damage is taken then. You just check at the end of each creature's turn if they are next to the sphere (and not at the end of the whole round). If a creatures ends their turn before flaming sphere is even cast, there is no damage to take. Surprise does not really change anything regarding flaming sphere
    $endgroup$
    – Sdjz
    Jun 5 at 9:49










  • $begingroup$
    Ok, thanks @Sdjz, that was the last doubt that I had, I shoud have added it to the question
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:52













12












12








12





$begingroup$

Yes (at the end of the surprised enemy's turn)



Note that there isn't really a "surprise round" in D&D 5th edition. Rather, it is just the first round of combat but surprised creatures can't take actions or reactions until after their first turn (see here):




If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first
turn of the combat, and you can't take a reaction until that turn
ends. A member of a group can be surprised even if the other members
aren't.




So the enemy still has a turn, it just can't actually do anything on it's turn. Except take damage from the flaming sphere: Being surprised has no effect on Flaming Sphere, which just states:




Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must make
a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a
failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.







share|improve this answer











$endgroup$



Yes (at the end of the surprised enemy's turn)



Note that there isn't really a "surprise round" in D&D 5th edition. Rather, it is just the first round of combat but surprised creatures can't take actions or reactions until after their first turn (see here):




If you're surprised, you can't move or take an action on your first
turn of the combat, and you can't take a reaction until that turn
ends. A member of a group can be surprised even if the other members
aren't.




So the enemy still has a turn, it just can't actually do anything on it's turn. Except take damage from the flaming sphere: Being surprised has no effect on Flaming Sphere, which just states:




Any creature that ends its turn within 5 feet of the sphere must make
a Dexterity saving throw. The creature takes 2d6 fire damage on a
failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one.








share|improve this answer














share|improve this answer



share|improve this answer








edited Jun 5 at 9:37

























answered Jun 5 at 9:34









PJRZPJRZ

14.2k14667




14.2k14667







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @PJRZ Ok, just one clarification, if the enemy rolled higher initiative, do they still take damage? because they would have "ended" the turn sooner that the spell was cast.
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:38






  • 4




    $begingroup$
    @AlbertCortada No damage is taken then. You just check at the end of each creature's turn if they are next to the sphere (and not at the end of the whole round). If a creatures ends their turn before flaming sphere is even cast, there is no damage to take. Surprise does not really change anything regarding flaming sphere
    $endgroup$
    – Sdjz
    Jun 5 at 9:49










  • $begingroup$
    Ok, thanks @Sdjz, that was the last doubt that I had, I shoud have added it to the question
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:52












  • 1




    $begingroup$
    @PJRZ Ok, just one clarification, if the enemy rolled higher initiative, do they still take damage? because they would have "ended" the turn sooner that the spell was cast.
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:38






  • 4




    $begingroup$
    @AlbertCortada No damage is taken then. You just check at the end of each creature's turn if they are next to the sphere (and not at the end of the whole round). If a creatures ends their turn before flaming sphere is even cast, there is no damage to take. Surprise does not really change anything regarding flaming sphere
    $endgroup$
    – Sdjz
    Jun 5 at 9:49










  • $begingroup$
    Ok, thanks @Sdjz, that was the last doubt that I had, I shoud have added it to the question
    $endgroup$
    – Albert Cortada
    Jun 5 at 9:52







1




1




$begingroup$
@PJRZ Ok, just one clarification, if the enemy rolled higher initiative, do they still take damage? because they would have "ended" the turn sooner that the spell was cast.
$endgroup$
– Albert Cortada
Jun 5 at 9:38




$begingroup$
@PJRZ Ok, just one clarification, if the enemy rolled higher initiative, do they still take damage? because they would have "ended" the turn sooner that the spell was cast.
$endgroup$
– Albert Cortada
Jun 5 at 9:38




4




4




$begingroup$
@AlbertCortada No damage is taken then. You just check at the end of each creature's turn if they are next to the sphere (and not at the end of the whole round). If a creatures ends their turn before flaming sphere is even cast, there is no damage to take. Surprise does not really change anything regarding flaming sphere
$endgroup$
– Sdjz
Jun 5 at 9:49




$begingroup$
@AlbertCortada No damage is taken then. You just check at the end of each creature's turn if they are next to the sphere (and not at the end of the whole round). If a creatures ends their turn before flaming sphere is even cast, there is no damage to take. Surprise does not really change anything regarding flaming sphere
$endgroup$
– Sdjz
Jun 5 at 9:49












$begingroup$
Ok, thanks @Sdjz, that was the last doubt that I had, I shoud have added it to the question
$endgroup$
– Albert Cortada
Jun 5 at 9:52




$begingroup$
Ok, thanks @Sdjz, that was the last doubt that I had, I shoud have added it to the question
$endgroup$
– Albert Cortada
Jun 5 at 9:52

















draft saved

draft discarded
















































Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


  • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

But avoid


  • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

  • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




draft saved


draft discarded














StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f149326%2fdo-surprised-enemies-take-damage-from-the-flaming-sphere-spell%23new-answer', 'question_page');

);

Post as a guest















Required, but never shown





















































Required, but never shown














Required, but never shown












Required, but never shown







Required, but never shown

































Required, but never shown














Required, but never shown












Required, but never shown







Required, but never shown







Popular posts from this blog

RemoteApp sporadic failureWindows 2008 RemoteAPP client disconnects within a matter of minutesWhat is the minimum version of RDP supported by Server 2012 RDS?How to configure a Remoteapp server to increase stabilityMicrosoft RemoteApp Active SessionRDWeb TS connection broken for some users post RemoteApp certificate changeRemote Desktop Licensing, RemoteAPPRDS 2012 R2 some users are not able to logon after changed date and time on Connection BrokersWhat happens during Remote Desktop logon, and is there any logging?After installing RDS on WinServer 2016 I still can only connect with two users?RD Connection via RDGW to Session host is not connecting

How to write a 12-bar blues melodyI-IV-V blues progressionHow to play the bridges in a standard blues progressionHow does Gdim7 fit in C# minor?question on a certain chord progressionMusicology of Melody12 bar blues, spread rhythm: alternative to 6th chord to avoid finger stretchChord progressions/ Root key/ MelodiesHow to put chords (POP-EDM) under a given lead vocal melody (starting from a good knowledge in music theory)Are there “rules” for improvising with the minor pentatonic scale over 12-bar shuffle?Confusion about blues scale and chords

Esgonzo ibérico Índice Descrición Distribución Hábitat Ameazas Notas Véxase tamén "Acerca dos nomes dos anfibios e réptiles galegos""Chalcides bedriagai"Chalcides bedriagai en Carrascal, L. M. Salvador, A. (Eds). Enciclopedia virtual de los vertebrados españoles. Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales, Madrid. España.Fotos