Unpreventable damage to Gideon, the OathswornIf a Creature-Planeswalker blocks a creature with infect, what happens?How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?Can I activate an enchantment energy ability during an opponents turn?What happens when both players run out of cards with Gideon of the Trials and an emblem in play?Prevent the next x damage and multiple unblocked creaturesDoes excess Planeswalker damage hit the player?What happens when I equip Helm of the Host on Gideon?Ugin's Conjurant vs. un-preventable damageKasmina's Transmutation vs. Gideon Blackblade

Does the first version of Linux developed by Linus Torvalds have a GUI?

Do any instruments not produce overtones?

What risks are there when you clear your cookies instead of logging off?

What can plausibly explain many of my very long and low-tech bridges?

Completing the square to find if quadratic form is positive definite.

How would you say “AKA/as in”?

Is the decompression of compressed and encrypted data without decryption also theoretically impossible?

What happens if you do emergency landing on a US base in middle of the ocean?

Does the "6 seconds per round" rule apply to speaking/roleplaying during combat situations?

Movie where a boy is transported into the future by an alien spaceship

What is the advantage of carrying a tripod and ND-filters when you could use image stacking instead?

Why don’t airliners have temporary liveries?

From system of coupled ODEs to separable ODE

Adding two lambda-functions in C++

Through what methods and mechanisms can a multi-material FDM printer operate?

How to make thick Asian sauces?

How is it possible that Gollum speaks Westron?

Why is quantum entanglement surprising?

Can a magnetic field of an object be stronger than its gravity?

How to skip replacing first occurrence of a character in each line?

How bad would a partial hash leak be, realistically?

Company did not petition for visa in a timely manner. Is asking me to work from overseas, but wants me to take a paycut

In this example, which path would a monster affected by the Dissonant Whispers spell take?

How do I write "Show, Don't Tell" as an Asperger?



Unpreventable damage to Gideon, the Oathsworn


If a Creature-Planeswalker blocks a creature with infect, what happens?How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?Can I activate an enchantment energy ability during an opponents turn?What happens when both players run out of cards with Gideon of the Trials and an emblem in play?Prevent the next x damage and multiple unblocked creaturesDoes excess Planeswalker damage hit the player?What happens when I equip Helm of the Host on Gideon?Ugin's Conjurant vs. un-preventable damageKasmina's Transmutation vs. Gideon Blackblade













5















Gideon, the Oathsworn has a +2 loyalty ability that reads:




+2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn. (He can't attack if he was cast this turn.)




In the card rulings, it states:




If damage that can’t be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first loyalty ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he’s a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he’s a planeswalker). Even though he’s also a creature, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he’s put into his owner’s graveyard.




What is a scenario that could cause non-preventable damage after this ability has resolved, which states that it will "prevent all damage"?










share|improve this question




























    5















    Gideon, the Oathsworn has a +2 loyalty ability that reads:




    +2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn. (He can't attack if he was cast this turn.)




    In the card rulings, it states:




    If damage that can’t be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first loyalty ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he’s a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he’s a planeswalker). Even though he’s also a creature, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he’s put into his owner’s graveyard.




    What is a scenario that could cause non-preventable damage after this ability has resolved, which states that it will "prevent all damage"?










    share|improve this question


























      5












      5








      5








      Gideon, the Oathsworn has a +2 loyalty ability that reads:




      +2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn. (He can't attack if he was cast this turn.)




      In the card rulings, it states:




      If damage that can’t be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first loyalty ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he’s a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he’s a planeswalker). Even though he’s also a creature, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he’s put into his owner’s graveyard.




      What is a scenario that could cause non-preventable damage after this ability has resolved, which states that it will "prevent all damage"?










      share|improve this question
















      Gideon, the Oathsworn has a +2 loyalty ability that reads:




      +2: Until end of turn, Gideon, the Oathsworn becomes a 5/5 white Soldier creature that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn. (He can't attack if he was cast this turn.)




      In the card rulings, it states:




      If damage that can’t be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his first loyalty ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he’s a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he’s a planeswalker). Even though he’s also a creature, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he’s put into his owner’s graveyard.




      What is a scenario that could cause non-preventable damage after this ability has resolved, which states that it will "prevent all damage"?







      magic-the-gathering mtg-planeswalkers






      share|improve this question















      share|improve this question













      share|improve this question




      share|improve this question








      edited May 19 at 18:26









      Glorfindel

      9,18613460




      9,18613460










      asked May 19 at 18:15









      Dan SolovayDan Solovay

      1284




      1284




















          2 Answers
          2






          active

          oldest

          votes


















          6














          Essentially, all cards that mention that "damage can't be prevented", though the sorceries will require additional cards to be cast during Gideon's owner's turn.



          Those cards do what they say on the tin; damage can't be prevented, neither by activated abilities like Circle of Protection nor by static abilities like Gideon's.






          share|improve this answer

























          • Nitpick; the sorceries can be a relevant example even without something else allowing them to be cast, because they could by cast by Gideon's controller.

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 18:49











          • Rre "Those cards do what they say on the tin", True, but it would be nice to know why do those cards do what they say on the tin, and Gideon doesn't.

            – ikegami
            May 19 at 20:22












          • Yep, I was going to look for that reference when I got home but I see you already found it :)

            – Glorfindel
            May 19 at 20:24











          • What’s “the tin?”

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 23:52






          • 1





            @GendoIkari en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_exactly_what_it_says_on_the_tin

            – Glorfindel
            May 20 at 5:42


















          6














          The damage can't be prevented.



          This is a situation covered by the second Golden Rule of the game.




          101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

          Example: If one effect reads “You may play an additional land this turn” and another reads “You can’t play lands this turn,” the effect that precludes you from playing lands wins.




          As we colloquially say, "can't trumps can".






          share|improve this answer























          • It appears that I misread the question. Nonetheless, I shall leave my answer up because it could be of use to those that land on this page.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 14:18












          • Not misread.I had to pick between two good answers. Thank you for explaining the "can't" vs. "can" semantics.

            – Dan Solovay
            May 20 at 19:07











          • I thought you asked if the damage would be prevented or not. I think I extrapolated the question from (an earlier version of) Glorfindel's answer rather than actually reading it.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 19:08












          Your Answer








          StackExchange.ready(function()
          var channelOptions =
          tags: "".split(" "),
          id: "147"
          ;
          initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

          StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
          // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
          if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
          StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
          createEditor();
          );

          else
          createEditor();

          );

          function createEditor()
          StackExchange.prepareEditor(
          heartbeatType: 'answer',
          autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
          convertImagesToLinks: false,
          noModals: true,
          showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
          reputationToPostImages: null,
          bindNavPrevention: true,
          postfix: "",
          imageUploader:
          brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
          contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
          allowUrls: true
          ,
          noCode: true, onDemand: true,
          discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
          ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
          );



          );













          draft saved

          draft discarded


















          StackExchange.ready(
          function ()
          StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f47294%2funpreventable-damage-to-gideon-the-oathsworn%23new-answer', 'question_page');

          );

          Post as a guest















          Required, but never shown

























          2 Answers
          2






          active

          oldest

          votes








          2 Answers
          2






          active

          oldest

          votes









          active

          oldest

          votes






          active

          oldest

          votes









          6














          Essentially, all cards that mention that "damage can't be prevented", though the sorceries will require additional cards to be cast during Gideon's owner's turn.



          Those cards do what they say on the tin; damage can't be prevented, neither by activated abilities like Circle of Protection nor by static abilities like Gideon's.






          share|improve this answer

























          • Nitpick; the sorceries can be a relevant example even without something else allowing them to be cast, because they could by cast by Gideon's controller.

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 18:49











          • Rre "Those cards do what they say on the tin", True, but it would be nice to know why do those cards do what they say on the tin, and Gideon doesn't.

            – ikegami
            May 19 at 20:22












          • Yep, I was going to look for that reference when I got home but I see you already found it :)

            – Glorfindel
            May 19 at 20:24











          • What’s “the tin?”

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 23:52






          • 1





            @GendoIkari en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_exactly_what_it_says_on_the_tin

            – Glorfindel
            May 20 at 5:42















          6














          Essentially, all cards that mention that "damage can't be prevented", though the sorceries will require additional cards to be cast during Gideon's owner's turn.



          Those cards do what they say on the tin; damage can't be prevented, neither by activated abilities like Circle of Protection nor by static abilities like Gideon's.






          share|improve this answer

























          • Nitpick; the sorceries can be a relevant example even without something else allowing them to be cast, because they could by cast by Gideon's controller.

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 18:49











          • Rre "Those cards do what they say on the tin", True, but it would be nice to know why do those cards do what they say on the tin, and Gideon doesn't.

            – ikegami
            May 19 at 20:22












          • Yep, I was going to look for that reference when I got home but I see you already found it :)

            – Glorfindel
            May 19 at 20:24











          • What’s “the tin?”

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 23:52






          • 1





            @GendoIkari en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_exactly_what_it_says_on_the_tin

            – Glorfindel
            May 20 at 5:42













          6












          6








          6







          Essentially, all cards that mention that "damage can't be prevented", though the sorceries will require additional cards to be cast during Gideon's owner's turn.



          Those cards do what they say on the tin; damage can't be prevented, neither by activated abilities like Circle of Protection nor by static abilities like Gideon's.






          share|improve this answer















          Essentially, all cards that mention that "damage can't be prevented", though the sorceries will require additional cards to be cast during Gideon's owner's turn.



          Those cards do what they say on the tin; damage can't be prevented, neither by activated abilities like Circle of Protection nor by static abilities like Gideon's.







          share|improve this answer














          share|improve this answer



          share|improve this answer








          edited May 19 at 21:02









          doppelgreener

          16.5k862130




          16.5k862130










          answered May 19 at 18:25









          GlorfindelGlorfindel

          9,18613460




          9,18613460












          • Nitpick; the sorceries can be a relevant example even without something else allowing them to be cast, because they could by cast by Gideon's controller.

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 18:49











          • Rre "Those cards do what they say on the tin", True, but it would be nice to know why do those cards do what they say on the tin, and Gideon doesn't.

            – ikegami
            May 19 at 20:22












          • Yep, I was going to look for that reference when I got home but I see you already found it :)

            – Glorfindel
            May 19 at 20:24











          • What’s “the tin?”

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 23:52






          • 1





            @GendoIkari en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_exactly_what_it_says_on_the_tin

            – Glorfindel
            May 20 at 5:42

















          • Nitpick; the sorceries can be a relevant example even without something else allowing them to be cast, because they could by cast by Gideon's controller.

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 18:49











          • Rre "Those cards do what they say on the tin", True, but it would be nice to know why do those cards do what they say on the tin, and Gideon doesn't.

            – ikegami
            May 19 at 20:22












          • Yep, I was going to look for that reference when I got home but I see you already found it :)

            – Glorfindel
            May 19 at 20:24











          • What’s “the tin?”

            – GendoIkari
            May 19 at 23:52






          • 1





            @GendoIkari en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_exactly_what_it_says_on_the_tin

            – Glorfindel
            May 20 at 5:42
















          Nitpick; the sorceries can be a relevant example even without something else allowing them to be cast, because they could by cast by Gideon's controller.

          – GendoIkari
          May 19 at 18:49





          Nitpick; the sorceries can be a relevant example even without something else allowing them to be cast, because they could by cast by Gideon's controller.

          – GendoIkari
          May 19 at 18:49













          Rre "Those cards do what they say on the tin", True, but it would be nice to know why do those cards do what they say on the tin, and Gideon doesn't.

          – ikegami
          May 19 at 20:22






          Rre "Those cards do what they say on the tin", True, but it would be nice to know why do those cards do what they say on the tin, and Gideon doesn't.

          – ikegami
          May 19 at 20:22














          Yep, I was going to look for that reference when I got home but I see you already found it :)

          – Glorfindel
          May 19 at 20:24





          Yep, I was going to look for that reference when I got home but I see you already found it :)

          – Glorfindel
          May 19 at 20:24













          What’s “the tin?”

          – GendoIkari
          May 19 at 23:52





          What’s “the tin?”

          – GendoIkari
          May 19 at 23:52




          1




          1





          @GendoIkari en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_exactly_what_it_says_on_the_tin

          – Glorfindel
          May 20 at 5:42





          @GendoIkari en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Does_exactly_what_it_says_on_the_tin

          – Glorfindel
          May 20 at 5:42











          6














          The damage can't be prevented.



          This is a situation covered by the second Golden Rule of the game.




          101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

          Example: If one effect reads “You may play an additional land this turn” and another reads “You can’t play lands this turn,” the effect that precludes you from playing lands wins.




          As we colloquially say, "can't trumps can".






          share|improve this answer























          • It appears that I misread the question. Nonetheless, I shall leave my answer up because it could be of use to those that land on this page.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 14:18












          • Not misread.I had to pick between two good answers. Thank you for explaining the "can't" vs. "can" semantics.

            – Dan Solovay
            May 20 at 19:07











          • I thought you asked if the damage would be prevented or not. I think I extrapolated the question from (an earlier version of) Glorfindel's answer rather than actually reading it.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 19:08
















          6














          The damage can't be prevented.



          This is a situation covered by the second Golden Rule of the game.




          101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

          Example: If one effect reads “You may play an additional land this turn” and another reads “You can’t play lands this turn,” the effect that precludes you from playing lands wins.




          As we colloquially say, "can't trumps can".






          share|improve this answer























          • It appears that I misread the question. Nonetheless, I shall leave my answer up because it could be of use to those that land on this page.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 14:18












          • Not misread.I had to pick between two good answers. Thank you for explaining the "can't" vs. "can" semantics.

            – Dan Solovay
            May 20 at 19:07











          • I thought you asked if the damage would be prevented or not. I think I extrapolated the question from (an earlier version of) Glorfindel's answer rather than actually reading it.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 19:08














          6












          6








          6







          The damage can't be prevented.



          This is a situation covered by the second Golden Rule of the game.




          101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

          Example: If one effect reads “You may play an additional land this turn” and another reads “You can’t play lands this turn,” the effect that precludes you from playing lands wins.




          As we colloquially say, "can't trumps can".






          share|improve this answer













          The damage can't be prevented.



          This is a situation covered by the second Golden Rule of the game.




          101.2. When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

          Example: If one effect reads “You may play an additional land this turn” and another reads “You can’t play lands this turn,” the effect that precludes you from playing lands wins.




          As we colloquially say, "can't trumps can".







          share|improve this answer












          share|improve this answer



          share|improve this answer










          answered May 19 at 20:21









          ikegamiikegami

          41.2k367140




          41.2k367140












          • It appears that I misread the question. Nonetheless, I shall leave my answer up because it could be of use to those that land on this page.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 14:18












          • Not misread.I had to pick between two good answers. Thank you for explaining the "can't" vs. "can" semantics.

            – Dan Solovay
            May 20 at 19:07











          • I thought you asked if the damage would be prevented or not. I think I extrapolated the question from (an earlier version of) Glorfindel's answer rather than actually reading it.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 19:08


















          • It appears that I misread the question. Nonetheless, I shall leave my answer up because it could be of use to those that land on this page.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 14:18












          • Not misread.I had to pick between two good answers. Thank you for explaining the "can't" vs. "can" semantics.

            – Dan Solovay
            May 20 at 19:07











          • I thought you asked if the damage would be prevented or not. I think I extrapolated the question from (an earlier version of) Glorfindel's answer rather than actually reading it.

            – ikegami
            May 20 at 19:08

















          It appears that I misread the question. Nonetheless, I shall leave my answer up because it could be of use to those that land on this page.

          – ikegami
          May 20 at 14:18






          It appears that I misread the question. Nonetheless, I shall leave my answer up because it could be of use to those that land on this page.

          – ikegami
          May 20 at 14:18














          Not misread.I had to pick between two good answers. Thank you for explaining the "can't" vs. "can" semantics.

          – Dan Solovay
          May 20 at 19:07





          Not misread.I had to pick between two good answers. Thank you for explaining the "can't" vs. "can" semantics.

          – Dan Solovay
          May 20 at 19:07













          I thought you asked if the damage would be prevented or not. I think I extrapolated the question from (an earlier version of) Glorfindel's answer rather than actually reading it.

          – ikegami
          May 20 at 19:08






          I thought you asked if the damage would be prevented or not. I think I extrapolated the question from (an earlier version of) Glorfindel's answer rather than actually reading it.

          – ikegami
          May 20 at 19:08


















          draft saved

          draft discarded
















































          Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!


          • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

          But avoid


          • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

          • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

          To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




          draft saved


          draft discarded














          StackExchange.ready(
          function ()
          StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f47294%2funpreventable-damage-to-gideon-the-oathsworn%23new-answer', 'question_page');

          );

          Post as a guest















          Required, but never shown





















































          Required, but never shown














          Required, but never shown












          Required, but never shown







          Required, but never shown

































          Required, but never shown














          Required, but never shown












          Required, but never shown







          Required, but never shown







          Popular posts from this blog

          RemoteApp sporadic failureWindows 2008 RemoteAPP client disconnects within a matter of minutesWhat is the minimum version of RDP supported by Server 2012 RDS?How to configure a Remoteapp server to increase stabilityMicrosoft RemoteApp Active SessionRDWeb TS connection broken for some users post RemoteApp certificate changeRemote Desktop Licensing, RemoteAPPRDS 2012 R2 some users are not able to logon after changed date and time on Connection BrokersWhat happens during Remote Desktop logon, and is there any logging?After installing RDS on WinServer 2016 I still can only connect with two users?RD Connection via RDGW to Session host is not connecting

          How to write a 12-bar blues melodyI-IV-V blues progressionHow to play the bridges in a standard blues progressionHow does Gdim7 fit in C# minor?question on a certain chord progressionMusicology of Melody12 bar blues, spread rhythm: alternative to 6th chord to avoid finger stretchChord progressions/ Root key/ MelodiesHow to put chords (POP-EDM) under a given lead vocal melody (starting from a good knowledge in music theory)Are there “rules” for improvising with the minor pentatonic scale over 12-bar shuffle?Confusion about blues scale and chords

          Esgonzo ibérico Índice Descrición Distribución Hábitat Ameazas Notas Véxase tamén "Acerca dos nomes dos anfibios e réptiles galegos""Chalcides bedriagai"Chalcides bedriagai en Carrascal, L. M. Salvador, A. (Eds). Enciclopedia virtual de los vertebrados españoles. Museo Nacional de Ciencias Naturales, Madrid. España.Fotos